British-Indian sculptor Anish Kapoor is among the four recipients of this year’s Lennon Ono Grant For Peace.

Yoko Ono, wife of the late Beatle John Lennon, announced that Chinese artist and activist Ai Weiwei, Hungarian poet and performance artist Katalin Ladik and Danish-Icelandic installation artist Olafur Eliasson are also winners of the peace prize.

Sculptor Anish Kapoor has won the Lennon Ono Grant for Peace (Tim Hales/AP/PA)

The awards will be presented in Reykjavik, Iceland, on October 9, which would have been John’s 76th birthday.

Yoko said: “I’m very proud to award the 2016 Lennon Ono Grant For Peace to the four incredible individuals named here.

“To have to label any of them with a description of what they do is both limiting and frustrating, because what they give to our world is so much bigger than even the tangible art they create.

Chinese artist Ai Weiwei (Petr David Josek/AP/PA)

“Born in different cultures, each of the recipients has shown us the true path of creativity, belief and hope for the world. Their huge contribution to our world is so much greater than the sum of its parts.”

Inaugurated in 2002 and presented every two years, past winners of the grant include Doctors Without Borders, The Color Purple author Alice Walker, Pussy Riot, and the late American peace activist Rachel Corrie.

Russian feminist band Pussy Riot are previous winners (Yui Mok/PA)

Since 2007 Yoko has travelled to Iceland to light the Imagine Peace Tower on John’s birthday, which remains lit until the day of his death on December 8.