Poldark star Aidan Turner has been crowned best Television Actor at the GQ Men of the Year awards.

The heartthrob, 33, won the gong just days after he brought back his smouldering alter-ego Ross Poldark to the small screen.

Aidan Turner in Poldark (BBC Pictures)

He was presented with the award by another actor whose TV return has been warmly welcomed by fans – Cold Feet star James Nesbitt.

Aidan Turner and James Nesbitt with the award for best Television Actor (Ian West/PA)

The star-studded ceremony, in the Turbine Hall at the Tate Modern, saw actor Sir Michael Caine named this year’s Legend.

Chart topping DJ Calvin Harris was presented with the trophy for best Solo Artist by singer Ellie Goulding and Bella Hadid, the sister of US catwalk star Gigi Hadid, was named Model of the Year.

Calvin Harris (Ian West/PA)

Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri, who steered the football club to become unlikely champions of the Premier League, won Outstanding Achievement.

Comedian Billy Connolly was presented with the Inspiration gong by veteran broadcaster Sir Michael Parkinson.

Pamela Stephenson and Billy Connolly arriving at the GQ Men of the Year Awards (Ian West/PA)

Team GB won best Team for their record-breaking success at the Rio Olympics, and London mayor Sadiq Khan was named best Politician.

Other winners at the dinner, hosted by US actor Stanley Tucci, included comedian Amy Schumer, who was named best Woman.

DJ and producer Mark Ronson won Most Stylish Man, and was given his award by rapper Tinie Tempah.

Mark Ronson and wife Josephine de La Baume (Ian West/PA)

Peckham-born Star Wars actor John Boyega won Breakthrough Actor, and accepted his award by video link.

Ricky Gervais took the Genius award, presented to him by Sir Patrick Stewart, while Nile Rodgers was crowned this year’s Icon.

Model and Strictly Come Dancing star Daisy Lowe presented best Band to Australian stars Tame Impala, while Star Trek actor Chris Pine won International Man.

Chris Pine played it cool (Ian West/PA)

Adventurer Bear Grylls won TV Personality, singer-songwriter Jack Garratt was crowned Breakthrough Solo Artist and boxer Anthony Joshua best Sportsman.

Artist Grayson Perry was named best Writer and YouTube personality Casey Neistat New Media star.

Grayson Perry after receiving his award (Ian West/PA)

Presenters on the night also included Sir Elton John, Florence Welch, Simon Pegg, Alison Moyet, David Walliams, James Bay, boxer Nicola Adams and Game Of Thrones actress Gwendoline Christie.

Gwendoline Christie (Ian West/PA)

Winners of the 19th annual GQ Men of the Year awards, in association with Hugo Boss, were chosen by GQ’s editorial team.

GQ Men of the Year winners

Television Actor: Aidan Turner

Genius: Ricky Gervais

Ricky Gervais with Patrick Stewart (Ian West/PA)

Designer: Alessandro Michele

Band: Tame Impala

New Media Star: Casey Neistat

Woman: Amy Schumer

Amy Schumer (Ian West/PA)

International Man: Chris Pine

Sportsman: Anthony Joshua

Politician: Sadiq Khan

TV Personality: Bear Grylls

Bear Grylls (Ian West/PA)

Writer: Grayson Perry

Vertu Breakthrough Actor: John Boyega

Breakthrough Designer: James Long

Hugo Boss Model of the Year: Bella Hadid

Bella Hadid (Joel Ryan/AP)

Breakthrough Solo Artist: Jack Garratt

Outstanding Achievement: Claudio Ranieri

Patron Tequila Solo Artist: Calvin Harris

Icon: Nile Rodgers

Nile Rodgers (Ian West/PA)

Hugo Boss Most Stylish Man: Mark Ronson

Legend: Sir Michael Caine

Team: Team GB

Inspiration: Billy Connolly